Academic Societies

All Harvard medical and dental students are members of one of five Academic Societies, also known as learning communities. Established in 1987, the Academic Societies exemplify Harvard’s innovative approach to medical education. They serve as the organizational framework for students’ general medical education and form an integral part of the HMS experience. Each Society is supervised by its own faculty members and administrative staff and assigned its own administrative offices, learning studio, skills lab, and classroom. The Societies organize academic, enrichment, and social events for students in order to support their growth from medical students to medical professionals. HMS Pathways/New Pathway students and dental students are members of Cannon, Castle, Hinton, or Peabody Society, while HST students are members of London Society.